Hi, my name is Voluptucurl, and I’m a product junkie. But I’m almost cured! That’s because I’ve nearly nailed down my hair regimen—finally. I think my product junkie tendencies came from trying to find what truly works on my hair. Once I learned the importance of knowing my texture, porosity, and elasticity rather than my curl pattern, it was easier to find products that benefit me. Most hair sites emphasize curl pattern and pitch products based on that. One’s curl type has less bearing on one’s hair needs than those other factors. However, I’ve freed myself from that notion and the requisite trappings. My hair is dry and coarse fine (my stylist told me that my hair seems coarse because it’s mega-dry!) with some medium strands, somewhat porous (I think), and fair elasticity (I also think). Based on that, I know that I need to avoid protein most of the time because my hair feels awful after a protein treatment; I need lots of moisturizing ingredients rather than restructuring ones; butters and oils are my friends; and, most of all, wetting and sealing with a bit of oil every day counteracts the dryness. Armed with this info, I’ve put together a regimen that makes a tremendous difference when I (actually) follow it. (Updated July 2015)

Every few days

  • Wash with my homemade clay mask (July 2015: I will post my ingredients soon)
  • Condition with (watered down) Aubrey Organics White Camellia Smoothing Conditioner, Curl Junkie Curl Rehab, or Spiral Solutions’ Deeply Decadent Moisturizing Treatment
  • Wash with Shea Moisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo, and/or co-wash with Suave Naturals Tropical Coconut Conditioner (or Rainbow Research Detangling Conditioner for Kids – Creamy Vanilla)
  • Post-condition rinse with aloe vera gel or hibiscus tea (about two cups of either) (update: I do this occasionally)

Style

Special Occasions – wash and go’s or twist-outs:
  • Wash and go:
    • Watered down conditioner and a gel (varies)
    • Style with BioInfusion Professional Hydrating Balm and shea butter and Joie MyGel for edges, or
    • Curl Junkie Beauticurls Leave-in Conditioner with homemade flax seed gel
  • Twist out: After washing: Curl Junkie Beauticurls Leave-in Conditioner, and avocado butter; other times:  Earth Mama Body Butter lotion and avocado butter
Daily style:
  • Flat, pinned sections with Curl Junkie Beauticurls Leave-in and shea butter, and Joie MyGel on edges, or
  • Twists with Curl Junkie Beauticurls Leave-in Conditioner, and avocado butter

Daily maintenance

  • Wet hair and seal with an oil Earth Mama Body Butter lotion (I’ll explain later!) and a butter Shea Moisture Curl Enhancement Smoothie; or a homemade moisturizer
  • Wet and lightly oil temples with homemade oil mixture (Jamaican black castor oil, neem oil, tea tree oil, and essential oils for fragrance)

Every two weeks

Once a month

  • Protein treatment with Aubrey Organics Blue Green Algae Hair Rescue Conditioning Mask
  • Clarify with Giovanni Triple Tea Tree Treat shampoo. I have no need to clarify since I’ve been using the clay mask. We’ll see if that stays true.

After haircuts

(Because my stylist uses Aveda products that contain ‘cones)

  • Wet hair and coat with evening primrose oil; cover with a plastic cap (note: whenever I do this this in general, my curls get a-poppin’)
  • The following day, wash with a mild-ish shampoo that contains coco-betaine; deep condition with either Spiral Solutions Deeply Decadent Conditioner or Curl Junkie Curl Rehab

Braid maintenance (once or twice a year)

  • Daily spray: distilled water, aloe vera gel, oil (olive or jojoba), pine needle essential oil, lavender essential oil, scent
  • I’ve decided to avoid braids now. My hairline can’t take anything that pulls.

I hope that I can continue with these products and not slip back into being a product junkie. Hey, my goal is to kick the habit, after all! I’m considering moving to a place where the climate will be significantly different, but I think these products and this routine will work for me year ’round. My hair is significantly dry, so I haven’t found it necessary to switch products when the seasons change. That might change, however, as my hair’s condition improves.

In the meantime, one two product products that I haven’t decided about is are Curl Junkie Curl Rehab (I haven’t used it yet) and Curl Junkie Curls in a Bottle (I’ve used it once, but I haven’t determined how to best use it). I’m going to update this entry if I need to make any changes. Otherwise, I’m quite satisfied with how this routine works for me.

Update from July 2015: As you see from my edits, I’ve simplified my routine considerably. I needed a regimen that would work best for my schedule and lazy ways (TM). So far, so good. The clay mask is amazing, and I might like it just as much or more than my ayurvedic herb treatment.

